In Colorado, there are a number of different felony classes that an individual can be charged with based on the crime’s severity. Class 2 is the second most serious category of felony crimes.
For a class 2 felony committed on or after July 1, 2018, the presumptive sentencing range is 8 to 24 years, a $5,000 to $1,000,000 fine, and three years of mandatory parole. However, the penalties can vary by case and whether the defendant has prior felony convictions. For example, class 2 felonies involving a crime of violence are subject to 16 to 48 years in prison, a $5,000 to $1,000,000 fine, and a mandatory parole period of five years.
There are many types of crimes charged as class 2 felonies in Colorado, such as the following:
Second-Degree Murder (CRS 18-3-103)
Knowingly causing the death of a person. (Self-induced intoxication is not a defense)
First-Degree Kidnapping (CRS 18-3-301)
Knowingly and forcibly taking any person from one place to another:
For first-degree kidnapping to remain a class 2 felony, the victim must have been unharmed in the process.
Second Degree Kidnapping (CRS 18-3-302)
If the person kidnapped is a victim of a sexual offense or a robbery.
Sexual Assault (CRS 18-3-402)
Any actor who knowingly inflicts sexual intrusion or penetration on a victim and:
Child Abuse (CRS 18-6-401)
Knowingly or recklessly commits child abuse, resulting in the death of a child.
Human Trafficking of Children for Involuntary Servitude (CRS 18-3-503)
A person who
Human Trafficking of Children for Sexual Servitude (CRS 18-3-504)
Aggravated Robbery of Controlled Substances (CRS 18-4-302)
If robbery of controlled substances involves the use of a deadly weapon, placing the victim in fear of death or injury, or being aided and abetted by an armed confederate.
Theft (CRS 18-4-401)
When the stolen property is valued at $1,000,000 or more.
Criminal Attempt (CRS 18-2-101)
In addition to prison and fines, when convicted of a class 2 felony, your life can be affected in the following ways:
On top of that, many opportunities for employment, loans, housing, or professional licenses may be limited.
The statute of limitations is a law that sets forth maximum time limits for the government to file criminal charges in a case. For class 2 felonies in Colorado, the statute of limitations varies depending on the crime. In most cases, it is three years for felony crimes but it can go up to 20. However, for some severe crimes, there is no time limit. For example, prosecutors can file criminal charges against someone accused of murder, kidnapping, or sexual assault against a child, at any time after the crime has been committed.
In other cases, the statute of limitations may be “tolled.” This means that the statute of limitations is temporarily suspended, which generally occurs when a suspect is on the run. Suspects must remain visible and employed within the state, to give law enforcement enough time to conduct an investigation. If a suspect is in hiding or living out of state or country, the statute of limitations restarts once they return to the area.
Non-citizens charged with a class 2 felony in Colorado can be deported if they are convicted. Therefore, it is critical to work with a skilled defense lawyer who can help get the charge dismissed or reduced to a non-deportable crime.
Any criminal allegation is a serious matter that can forever change your life. A Colorado Defense Lawyer can help represent your interests during every stage of the criminal proceedings, from arrest and arraignment through trial. Contact Flesch & Beck Law today to arrange a free consultation to discuss your legal options.