Free Case Consultations
Request Free Consultation
Attorney signing contract

Colorado Domestic Violence Assault – § 18-6-801 CRS

Posted on November 15, 2023 in

When a fight with a loved one escalates into violence or threats, those actions can lead to criminal charges. Unfortunately, facing these charges can mean jail or even prison time. That can leave you struggling to get your life back on track.

So what can you do if you were facing charges of Colorado domestic violence assault – § 18-6-801 CRS? Be sure you know what charges you are facing, what penalties can come with a conviction, and what defense strategy is right for your needs.

What Is Domestic Violence Assault?

The first step to defending yourself against domestic violence assault charges under § 18-6-801 CRS is to first determine what those charges mean. In Colorado, domestic violence assault is the act of inflicting bodily injury on someone you are in an intimate relationship with.

However, this is not a standalone charge. This is a type of criminal assault and one with a penalty enhancement. That means your assault charges have aggravating factors that are simply penalties if you are convicted.

Penalties for Domestic Violence Assault in Colorado

If you are convicted of domestic violence assault, the penalties depend on the severity of the case. For example, if you were accused of third-degree assault with this penalty enhancement, you may face a Class 1 misdemeanor, which comes with 18 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. However, the highest degree is first-degree assault, a Class 3 felony with up to 32 years in prison. That includes a fine of up to 750,000.

Because the assault involves domestic violence, you may face other penalties. For example, you may face restraining or protective orders against you. If drugs or alcohol are involved, you may be required to complete a treatment plan or drug and alcohol counseling. These details will depend on your case and whether you can

What Defenses Can I Use for My Criminal Case?

When you are accused of domestic violence assault, building a strong defense strategy is key. The details of that defense strategy will depend on the specifics of your criminal charges and the evidence you and your attorney gather.

For example, you may argue that you were acting in self-defense. You may have even been afraid for your safety. Relatedly, you may have been acting in the defense of others, such as your children.

In some cases, you may believe you were falsely accused. Your neighbors may have heard raised voices unrelated to an actual assault, an abusive partner may have accused you, or any injuries were strictly accidental.

As you choose the best defense strategy for your case, talk to your lawyer about the specific events related to your arrest. Your defense attorney can review the evidence against you and hope you define a strong defense that can help you get your charges reduced or dismissed.

Reach Out for Help with Your Legal Defense

Colorado’s domestic violence assault laws can lead to devastating consequences that leave you with major penalties but can haunt you for years. You may struggle to overcome these charges and get your life back on track. Fortunately, our team can help you do so.

If you are facing charges of Colorado domestic violence assault, reach out to the team at Flesch & Beck Law. Our team has experience and resources we can use to represent you in the courtroom. That representation can Make a big difference when trying to reduce or dismiss your charges.

When you are ready to speak with an attorney, contact us for a consultation with our team by calling or completing our online contact form.