Free Case Consultations
Request Free Consultation
Attorney signing contract

Colorado’s Zero Tolerance Policy for Underage DUI

Posted on December 30, 2023 in

Driving under the influence by anyone is not legal, and in every situation, it is dangerous. For those who are younger, though, the risks are multiplied thanks to the inexperience of the driver coupled with the limitations on their impairment. If you have a child who is hitting the road soon, you should fully understand Colorado’s zero-tolerance policy for underage DUI and what that could mean for your driver. Talk to a Lakewood DUI defense attorney from Flesch & Beck Law.

What Is the Zero Tolerance Policy in Colorado?

In short, the rule is very specific and straightforward. If a driver that is under the age of 21 is found to be intoxicated, they will be charged with an Underage Drinking and Driving Offense, or UDD. Under the state’s laws, that means that any teen driver with a blood alcohol content of .02% or higher is subject to this specific charge. It is critical that you understand all teen driving restrictions under Colorado law.

It is also important to understand the risks of being in possession of alcohol and how it impacts young drivers. The Minor in Possession of Alcohol (MIP) rule is also very stringent, with very little leeway. This rule forbids teens from being in possession of alcohol in any way – and that is clearly indicative of the risks of being behind the wheel. Those who break this law could face significant fines of up to $250. They may also need to complete 24 hours of community service.

What Should You Do If Your Teen Is Found Intoxicated

When your child makes a mistake and is behind the wheel of a car intoxicated, you can count on being concerned about what legal steps you can take. It can be very worrisome in this situation, but there are several things we encourage you to do.

If your child has been accused or charged with underage DUI, we encourage you to contact us immediately. We offer free case evaluation and can offer immediate help to guide you in helping your teen avoid making any costly mistakes. We do not advise fighting back against the police or refusing a breathalyzer. The key here is to know your rights, and we want to be there to help make sure that happens.

Why Trust Our Team

The state’s zero-tolerance policy can be very limiting, but you still have the ability to create a legal defense to help your child get through this difficult process. You can expect us to help you to do just that. With our over 40 years of experience handling some of the most complicated criminal defense cases, we will be there to support you as well, one step at a time, through this process.

Set Up a Consultation to Discuss Your Case With Us Now

When you call Flesch & Beck Law, you get exceptional legal support. Let us help you and your child through these claims of underage DUI so that you can find the best way forward. Talk to us today at a consultation.