Free Case Consultations
Request Free Consultation
Attorney signing contract

CRS § 18-12-106 – Prohibited Use of Weapons

Posted on February 20, 2024 in

Colorado laws, including CRS § 18-12-106, provide very specific limitations on when a person can use or be in possession of weapons. Specifically, this law requires that no person who is under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substance be able to aim, throw, discharge, or otherwise use specific weapons. Doing so can lead to charges and jail time.

If you are facing charges like this, contact our criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of James L. Finegan, P.C. for immediate help.

What You Should Know About CRS § 18-12-106

If you are charged with CRS § 18-12-106 – Prohibited Use of Weapons, it is critical that you understand what this means and how it can impact the charges you are facing. The law allows for a person who is using weapons while intoxicated to be punished by up to 364 days in jail and a fine of $1,000.

This will worsen if there is a secondary charge for the same thing in the following five years. If you have been convicted of previous charges and then are charged with, you could face up to 3 years in prison and a $100,000 fine. This includes previous charges such as:

  • Unlawful carrying of a concealed weapon
  • Prohibited use of a weapon
  • Possession of a defaced firearm or any other violation of the law.

Under this Colorado law, a number of specific types of weapons are included. This includes:

  • Bows and arrows
  • Firearms of all types
  • Traps
  • Nunchaku
  • Throwing stars
  • Explosive devices used with a tripwire

Being found with any of these weapons on your person during the commission of a crime can put you in a difficult situation, so be sure to talk to a criminal defense attorney about your case.

What Should You Do If You Are Charged with This Crime?

In situations where you have been charged with CRS § 18-12-106, it is critical to hire an attorney to defend you in this situation. We recommend contacting a criminal defense attorney immediately for help. It is possible to create a legal strategy that includes one or more types of defenses for this charge. Some examples of a defense that may apply in your case include:

  • You had the legal right to discharge the weapon.
  • You did not know the weapon was loaded at the time.
  • The weapon was discovered in an illegal search.
  • You did not have or use the weapon.
  • You did not have control of the weapon, but another party did.

The specifics of your situation will allow our criminal defense team to create a legal strategy for your situation. It is critical to take these charges seriously. Fines and jail time can be significant, and that could lead to years of complications if you are charged with additional claims over time.

If you are facing CRS § 18-12-106 – Prohibited Use of Weapons charges, call a Colorado criminal defense attorney at the Law Offices of James L. Finegan P.C. for immediate help. Schedule an appointment with us now to discuss your case in private.