Is This Your First DUI?
If you have been charged with your first DUI in any community in the Colorado Front Range region, make sure your defense lawyer has the skill, knowledge and experience to help you get the best possible outcome for your charges.
Call Denver DUI Attorney James L. Finegan at 303-586-2961 or toll-free at 303-586-2961 to work with a lawyer who has been fighting to protect the rights and the futures of people charged with DUI for more than 35 years. He works aggressively to help you avoid the most serious consequences that can result from a conviction. The firm defends clients against DUI charges in metro Denver and throughout Jefferson County.
You Can’t Afford To Wait
For most people charged with DUI in Colorado, it is the first time they will be facing the criminal justice system. Naturally, their thoughts turn to whether or not jail might be part of the sentence. The fact is jail is a mandatory sentence if the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) is tested to be .20 percent or higher at the time of the test. In addition, if the driver is a habitual offender, or with at least one DUI/DWAI conviction already on record, a judge will be forced to hand down a mandatory jail sentence.
In most first-offense DUI cases, however, an experienced DUI defense lawyer may be able to work out an arrangement to either reduce the charge to driving while ability impaired (DWAI) or an even lesser offense.
Make no mistake, prosecutors and judges take first-offense DUI very seriously. The penalties for DUI are severe, and the fines, legal costs and increased insurance premiums typically act as a strong deterrent against a repeat offense.
Possible Colorado Penalties For First-Offense DWAI And DUI:
- DWAI .05 to .079 BAC, up to: Six months in jail; $500 fine; 48 hours of public service; alcohol education class; two years of probation
- DUI .08 to .199 BAC, up to: One year in jail; $1,000 fine; 96 hours of public service; alcohol education class; two years of probation
- DUI .20 or higher, up to: Mandatory 10 days and up to one year in jail; $1,000 fine; 120 hours of public service; alcohol education and therapy; two years of probation
Don’t Let The Prosecution Control Your Case
Accepting the charges puts you at the mercy of the courts, and you deserve a strong defense on your side. If you were innocent of the charges, Attorney James L. Finegan will find a way to prove this to the courts.
If you were driving under the influence, Mr. Finegan understands that you made a mistake, and he is here to help you get assistance and move past the situation positively. Get in touch online for a free consultation. Take charge of your situation.